Dmitry Figol My name is Dmitry Figol and I am originally from Ukraine. I live in Krakow, Poland.
Currently I work for Cisco in sales operations. I am in charge of design and implementation of software applications and automation systems for sales internally. The applications are ranging from data analytics and integrations between different systems to automation for our lab and demo offerings.
A few notable projects I have been working on: distributed telemetry system for Proof of Value labs, fully automated lab management system for the datacenter.

Previously I was working in Cisco Technical Assistance Center for two years. I was in Core Architecture team focusing on crash / memory leaks / other unexpected behavior on Cisco routers and switches and in VPN team supporting VPN technologies on ASA and IOS/IOS-XE routers. Before I joined Cisco I was working in the game development industry part-time while studying in the university.

My main expertise is network automation and programmability, NetDevOps.
I have been programming in Python for more than 7 years.
I am maintaining two open-source Python libraries: simple smartsheet (sole maintainer) and nornir

I am currently very interested in Python asyncio ecosystem, especially async web with Python (frameworks like FastAPI/Starlette). Also I am slowly learning Golang and Javascript + Vue.JS.

I also have CCIE R&S #53592, which I earned in July 2016.
I have been live streaming about network programmability, automation and programming in Python on Twitch almost every Sunday at 6 PM CET / 12 PM EST / 9 AM PST. Recordings are published on my YouTube

In terms of education I have Bachelor of Science (BS) in Telecommunications. I have also taken Master courses in Technical University of Cologne and Georgia Tech Online Master of Science in Computer Science program (OMSCS).

Please note that the content on my website does not reflect a point of view of any of my employers, past or present.

For recruiters

I am open for opportunities. I am mostly interested in network automation but I am also considering pure software development jobs (Python).
WFH (full/partial) is preferred. Also, I would like to stay in Krakow. No B2B.

This blog is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License

Contacts

contact [at] dmfigol.me
@dmfigol
/in/dmfigol
/dmfigol
/dmfigol
/dmfigol